Home > Food > Seasonal Fruits and Veggies – Fall

Seasonal Fruits and Veggies – Fall

Tis fall now in full swing and the time to find deals on seasonal produce that can help you cut your weekly grocery bills as well as help you eat healthy.  Here are the fall fruits and veggies to watch for:

Apples – I prefer Michigan Apples not just because they help the local economy and I can get free ones from my parents orchard if I pick my own but because they are of fantastic quality.  The Washington State Apples that do make their way to the Midwest are smaller and of course less fresh.  Indiana Apples are also smaller and often infected with Apple Scale which doesn’t hurt how edible the fruit is but does make it much less attractive. They can be a bargain often because of their less attractiveness which doesn’t matter at all if you intend to peel the fruit anyway.  I like to eat the peels myself because there is a wealth of nutrition in them.

Broccoli – Just harvested some yesterday from my garden as my bunny friend would rather eat my cabbages then the broccoli.  Cabbage is cheaper so I grow cabbage mainly for him to eat and thus distract him from my more expensive veggies like the broccoli.

Brussel Sprouts- Always tasty if you can find them.  Fairly easy to grow your own and if kept picked will continue to make more till the first frost kills them off.

Cabbage – One of the staple Polish veggies.  The bunny that lives under my garden shed eats the center out of the ones I grow myself but the roadside stands in Michigan have some really nice cabbages often you can get 2 or more for a dollar.  I go through lots of cabbage making Polish food.

Chinese Cabbage- Great in Stir-Frys…get that wok busy!

Cauliflower- A favorite that is a good deal this time of year and freezes well if cut up, blanched and bagged.

Celery Root- Awesome eaten raw but can also be prepared like you would mashed potatoes.

Chicory- I harvest my own as it is very common in the wild here and not something I use that much of anyway. Foolish to buy in this area anyway.

Cranberries- Tasty and can be easily frozen or dried if you find a good sale.

Cucumbers- Now is the time to stock up and get tired of them as they will be very expensive and far less flavorful over the winter.

Dates- Good prices on those now and always a good time to pick them up as they store well for the Christmas baking season.  Think date cookies, muffins and bread!

Grapes- All colors, seedless and seeded they are a great buy.  Keep some in the freezer for a frosty snack that’s good for you!

Greens- Any salad greens are a good deal now at end of season.  I avoid Iceburg lettuce like the plague but love all other varieties of lettuce.  I grow a variety of them for tasty salads over the summer.

Mushrooms-Stumpers or Honey Mushrooms are found now wild in the woods.  Always cook them, never eat raw and make sure you know what you have like any wild mushrooms.  Store varieties are cheap now too and can be sliced and added to many of your favorite foods.  If I have many I steam them in some water or stock then freeze to later use as a soup base.  A good reuse for cottege cheese containers as you can just pop the soup starter out of them after being thawed slightly.

Nuts- So easy to store and oh so good.  Either harvested wild or store bought they are a good food to store away.

Okra- Yuck!  I think you must be southern to eat that but I hear it goes well with raccoon or possom.  I don’t like the slimy texture myself.  Slugs or snails have more protein.

Mandarin Oranges- So delicious when fresh and if canning fruit they are good mixed in to give some variety to your apples, peaches or pears.

Pears-Time to can those pears for winter eating and pear sauce oh so good!

Chile Peppers-Peppers can easily be dried just by using a piece of wire.  Thread the peppers on the wire then bend the end into a convient hook for hanging up.  Your chili will thank you!

Sweet Peppers-Good time to add more of these to your recipes be they green, orange, red or yellow.

Persimmons- Something I don’t buy much of but do like.

Pomegranates- The best time to buy this otherwise expensive fruit.  I like them raw, just peel a side open and pull the juicy seeds out to eat.  My son and I like these for a snack while watching TV.

Potatoes-Reasonable year round but even better this time of year.  You can get big baking potatoes for so little.

Quince-Great jam! Also look for wild gooseberries in the woods this time of year that are tart but good to add to a pie with other sweeter fruit or for jam.

Shallots- Great sliced into that soup base from mushrooms I told you to freeze.

Spinach-Lightly sauted with some garlic and olive oil or raw in a salad is the best way to eat spinach in my opinion.

Winter Squash-They will store well over the winter so stock up.  I bake them in the oven with the peel on till soft then the peel will come right off. Mash and season with butter and some sea salt and pepper.  In Indiana, they ruin squash with marshmellows, brown sugar and maple syrup..don’t do that squash are like pumpkin and sweet potatoes naturally sweet so you don’t need that. After mashed you can freeze it for a quick meal later that only needs to be thawed and warmed.

Star Fruit-Very expensive around here but a good time to try them if you haven’t.

Sweet Potatoes-Nice long storage time like potatoes and so delicious cooked like a baked potato rather than all sugared up.

Wintergreen – In season in a woods near you.  A tasty berry snack while hiking and have some natural properties that make them like wild aspirin that taste wonderful.  Try not to overdo it on them but love to eat them and they do dry nicely.  I make a icecream topping from them by cooking them down to a syrup consistancy.

Happy saving and eating!

  1. how to hypnotize
    October 12, 2011 at 6:37 PM

    I was very happy to find this web-site.I needed to thanks in your time for this excellent read!! I definitely having fun with every little bit of it and I’ve you bookmarked to take a look at new stuff you blog post.

  2. October 15, 2011 at 4:19 PM

    I need to say, youve got one of the very best blogs Ive seen in a lengthy time. What I wouldnt give to have the ability to generate a weblog thats as intriguing as this. I guess Ill just have to maintain reading yours and hope that 1 day I can write on a subject with as a lot knowledge as youve got on this one!

  3. NVQ Level 2 Business Administration
    October 17, 2011 at 5:24 AM

    Ive been meaning to read this and just by no means got a chance. Its an problem that Im extremely thinking about, I just began reading and Im glad I did. Youre a great blogger, among the very best that Ive seen. This blog undoubtedly has some info on topic that I just wasnt conscious of. Thanks for bringing this stuff to light.

  4. NVQ Level 4 Health and Social Care
    October 17, 2011 at 8:32 AM

    Im not going to say what everybody else has already said, but I do desire to comment on your understanding of the topic. Youre really well-informed. I cant believe just how much of this I just wasnt conscious of. Thank you for bringing a lot more information to this topic for me. Im really grateful and genuinely impressed.

  5. level 3 nvq childcare
    October 17, 2011 at 1:55 PM

    Fantastic weblog! I dont believe Ive seen all the angles of this subject the way youve pointed them out. Youre a true star, a rock star man. Youve got so significantly to say and know so a lot about the subject that I believe you ought to just teach a class about it…HaHa!

  6. nvq childcare courses
    October 17, 2011 at 5:26 PM

    Youre so awesome, man! I cant believe I missed this weblog for so long. Its just fantastic stuff all round. Your design, man…too remarkable! I cant wait to read what youve got next. I enjoy every little thing that youre saying and want more, more, Much more! Maintain this up, man! Its just too good.

  7. NVQ Level 2 Health and Social Care
    October 17, 2011 at 6:27 PM

    I dont know what to say. This blog is amazing. Thats not truly a actually enormous statement, but its all I could come up with after reading this. You know so much about this subject. So considerably so that you made me need to learn more about it. Your weblog is my stepping stone, my friend. Thanks for the heads up on this subject.

  8. NVQ Level 3 Business Administration
    October 18, 2011 at 10:49 AM

    Congratulations on having among the most sophisticated blogs Ive come across in some time! Its just extraordinary just how much you can take away from something simply due to how visually lovely it really is. Youve put together an excellent blog space –great graphics, videos, layout. This is absolutely a must-see blog!

  9. October 19, 2011 at 9:54 PM

    Hi, I just read texts on your blog and I became interested in the topic. I like your site and I am thinking whether I could use your words in my work? Would it be possible? If yes, please contact with me.Thanks.

  10. advance security jobs
    October 20, 2011 at 1:34 AM

    Amazing weblog! I dont feel Ive seen all of the angles of this subject the way youve pointed them out. Youre a true star, a rock star man. Youve got so considerably to say and know so significantly about the subject that I feel you ought to just teach a class about it…HaHa!

  11. kahlua recipe
    October 20, 2011 at 10:03 AM

    It was nice to read your post. Thank you for posting this piece!

  12. office contents insurance
    October 22, 2011 at 8:24 PM

    Can I just say, this weblog is what got me by means of the day nowadays. Every single time I read it, I just get far more and much more excited about whats next. Quite refreshing blog and extremely refreshing suggestions. Im glad that I came across this when I did. I really like what youve got to say as well as the way you say it.

  13. self build insurance quote
    October 22, 2011 at 10:43 PM

    Why didnt I feel about this? I hear exactly what youre saying and Im so pleased that I came across your weblog. You genuinely know what youre talking about, and you produced me feel like I really should understand more about this. Thanks for this; Im officially a large fan of your blog.

  14. dial direct home insurance
    October 22, 2011 at 10:46 PM

    Im a enormous fan already, man. Youve completed a brilliant job generating certain that folks understand where youre coming from. And let me tell you, I get it. Excellent stuff and I cant wait to read much more of your blogs. What youve got to say is important and requirements to be read.

  15. landlord boiler insurance
    October 23, 2011 at 1:00 AM

    Hrmm that was weird, my comment got eaten. Anyway I wanted to say that it’s nice to know that somebody else also mentioned this as I had trouble discovering the exact same info elsewhere. This was the very first place that told me the answer. Thanks.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment